How We Are Led

In accordance with scripture Jesus Christ is the head of the church. He governs His church through office-bearers whom He appoints by the gifting of the Spirit with the means of grace necessary to accomplish their work.  The biblical officers of a church are Elders and Deacons. Calvary Baptist Church is led by a plurality of elders, served by deacons and other ministerial staff with the final earthly authority being vested in the assembled congregation in regards to the doctrinal integrity, membership issues, election of officers, and budget concerns.

Elders: The fundamental responsibilities of an elder are to devote himself to prayer and the Word so as to teach, shepherd and give oversight as follows. We have the following elders:


Josh Myrick


Deacons: Our deacons assist the elders regarding any service that supports and promotes the ministry of the Word, new and existing ministries of the church, and care for members of the congregation. We do not believe deacons exercise oversight according to the Bible, nor are they a board of directors. Rather, deacons are the lead servants of the church.